Day 20 – fethiye boat

Yay! Our hotel has wireless!! Actually, even our coach which brought us here through the turkish wilderness had wireless which was really nice as I could take a quick snap of the countryside then pop it on Facebook seconds later.

Correction: I COULD have done that but was too buggered and slept a lot of the way and learnt a few key terms in turkish – a fasinating language that sounds german one second, then Russian the next, then I’m SURE I can hear some French words in there too.

It’s very beautiful to listen to with it’s very satisfying crunch of consenents mixed in with flowing flowery vowels. It’s not too hard to get your tongue around it but as I have nothing to link it with, I am memorizing the terms by linking them to visual images in my head.

I.e a man sitting on a mare waving hello = Merehaba (mare-haba, hello), or a saudi sheik wearing a rainbow dress and saying thanks = ( Ta sheik colour, thanks!)

Im just finishing breakky but got to admit, I’m bloody exhausted this morning. We’re just about to leave the small hotel ‘Yuni ceri’ and head for the boat where we’ll be doing nuddin for 3 days but sailing into small inlets, drinking our smuggled on liquor, and sleeping under the stars.

And man I need it. Been feeling a bit worse for wear lately partly due to being over amazing and partly due to the snoring capacity of a certain someone.

Got a few hours I think this morning – albeit restless and filled with unsettling dreams so at the moment my eyes are hanging out of my head and I’m about to faceplant into my cheese and tomato breakfast.

Bring on the boat and 3 days of sleeping!!

I’ll take heaps of pics while sailing around the ancient sites and landscapes but I don’t think I’ll have Internet for a day or two so will post them around Tuesday.

In the meantime you should read the history of fethiye and learn a bit more about this ancient place.

I, on the otherhand am going to crawl into a ball and fall asleep under the bourgainvillias and dream of handsome soilders dresses as Brad Pitt in Troy, or about super corporate suited soilders doing battle in the boardroom (I’ll explain that last one later).

Btw the photos below are from our last night in Berlin (until we go back in sept) where the ultra charming and laid back Francis took us to his favourite bar/cafe Einstein. It was the house of a famous silent movie star who had her house and belongings confiscated due to subversive behaviour against the 3rd Reich.

I might have made that last bit up so check it yourselves online and let me know. The picture on the wall is of her btw and the house/cafe oozes a magical and captivating old world charm. Please visit when in Berlin.

The martinis are dry and good! And the service is exquisite.

The others two pics are from when we sat by the sea last night for D’s b’day dinner with our friend Leithy.

T’was fantastic but always ask for the prices of things before you order them – something we didn’t do yesterday.

We had a small (tiny) grouper fish as part of dinner which turned out to be a very expensive dish indeed. The waiter/owner explained afterwards that it was the most expensive type of fish in fethiye – 3 times the price of bream, or snapper or pretty much any of the other fish he had there that day. šŸ™‚

~ by seanieo on July 10, 2010.

Leave a comment